In 1930, Frederick Craufurd Goodenough, Chairman of Barclays Bank, formed a Trust to raise funds for a hall of residence for male students from the British 'Dominions'. The Dominions Students' Hall Trust aimed to create a collegiate setting that would enhance international understanding and prevent students from feeling isolated in the British capital. London House opened on one of London's finest Georgian squares.
After the Second World War a 'Sister Trust' raised finance for further expansion and William Goodenough House opened as a residence for female postgraduates and students with families. As part of the Lord Mayor's National Thanksgiving Fund the expansion was seen as a way of thanking both Commonwealth countries and the United States for their support during the War.
The two Trusts merged in 1965 and became London House for Overseas Graduates. The title later changed to The London Goodenough Trust for Overseas Graduates and then, in 2001 it became Goodenough College. It was felt that the name reflected more accurately the purpose and ethos of the institution with its 'collegial' setting and unique community environment.
Accommodation was originally reserved for students from Commonwealth countries but US students were admitted from 1950 and those from continental Europe in 1974. South African students continued to be admitted after the country left the Commonwealth in 1961.
In 2001 the College became fully international and its student community of 700 now represents over 80 countries.
Please click below to learn more about the history of each of our two Houses - London House and William Goodenough House.